The famous Yardley & Co opened their perfume and soap factory on Carpenters Road in 1903. Between 1985 and 2001 the building was home to 500 artists, in studios managed by Acme.

http://www.acme.org.uk/unearthed.php

  • 1-Yardley--Co-Historic-England.jpg
  • 2-Yardley--Co-Historic-England.jpg
  • 3-Yardley--Co-Historic-England.jpg

The only industrial building preserved within the Park is the former Starch Department of Clarnico at Hackney Wick, who made sweets here from 1897 to 1955, including the infamous Mint Creams. It now forms part of the Park’s energy centre.

http://www.wickcuriosityshop.net/collection/clarnico.sweets

Close to where the Lee Valley VeloPark now stands, archaeologists found the remains of medieval industry – water channels built in 1500 to power the mills of the Knights Templar. During the 17th and 18th centuries, industries such as leather processing, yarn twisting and ketting making took place there. Temple Mills was also the site of Chobham Farm and in 1896 the Great Eastern Railway opened wagon works at Temple Mills. There are very few historic images of the site available.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Temple_Mills

The earliest known building on Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park is a Bronze Age round-house. Archaeologists found pottery, cattle bones and charred grains during their excavations of this site on which the London Aquatics Centre now sits.

http://www.wessexarch.co.uk/projects/London/72550/renewing-past-olympic-park

  • History-2-Prehistoric-Farm.jpg

Painting by Alan Sorrell © Museum of London

Before the Park was built, archaeologists dug more than 120 excavation trenches exposing its rich history, including prehistoric settlements and waterside industry dating from the Neolithic period to the present day. The Learning Legacy website describes the archaeological work undertaken and gives an insight into some of the finds from the Park.

http://learninglegacy.independent.gov.uk/themes/archaeology/index.php